Recommendations and anti-recommendations: an irregular service

by Josh Kimball

I am going to continue saying eff it to the usual ‘nerd format and offer a few recommendations and anti-recommendations tonight. Thank you for your indulgence.

After this, I will return to a music-heavy playlist, while keeping the more textured parts of my mind’s life hidden, far from view. Thank you and regards.

Recommendations
Blogs about or sometimes addressing music. You probably know about them, but I don’t care.
The Daily Swarm: Nice layout.
Switchblade Comb: Local Minneapolis blog with irrepressible content flow.
Hipster Runoff: So angry it sometimes scares me.
Metal Sucks: So passionate it sometimes scares me. And for metal.

Things (general):
-Bad Banana’s twitterstream: Jokes about North Korea and the Final Meltdown (economic).
-Google hot trends: I don’t care if it’s Google, I don’t care if it’s easy to game, I don’t care if everyone knows about it. I’m addicted.
FiveThirtyEight: Political polls – PRETTY ONES – and other data crunched in an aesthetically pleasing manner.
Surly Furious: A beer for people who are angry. Or those who would like to become so.
Free Dr. Pepper
George Packer: NYer blogger.
-Most of Clive Thompson‘s mainstream media articles: His blog is like a ghost town. Or sawdust. Depending on the scope of the metaphor you want to use.

Things I am compelled by conscience to recommend:
-The Jobby Blog
-The partnership blog: As you can see on Culture Capture, I have a huge forehead. And, at least in this picture, am a total square.
Latino L.A.: I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not Latino. Actually, maybe my mother would be.

Anti-recommendations
-Black mead: Never drink it. NEVER. It tastes like mushrooms.
-Mighty Magic Minis Popsicles: I don’t care if you are two years old, these things are a BAD DEAL.
Batter Blaster: Consistency? Not good.
-Most of Virginia Heffernan’s columns in the New York Times magazine. I usually disagree with the premise! And the execution. But usually, the way the idea is framed. And, I guess, not so much “disagree,” but rather “think is wrong.” Sad.

I have most probably forgotten a thousand things. And for that I apologize. Or perhaps you are relieved. There is always tomorrow – or some day years and years off into the future.

