Links for 10.20.08: iLike pays, Palin winks, Pandora cuts…

by Josh Kimball

*Business models: iLike is going to start paying artists when their music gets listened to. [mashable]

*Hustle and/or flow: NPR talks to Terrence Howard, who just put out his first album. “My dream was to be a physicist.” I should say that I have always dreamt of being retired.

*Finance: Russell Simmons is advising that the residential real estate market is a BUY. [dailyswarm]

*Excuse me?: Secret Society is an 18-piece steampunk jazz ensemble. They’re recording their first album in December. [3quarksdaily]

*Recession: Pandora lays off 14% of its staff.

*Politics: Sarah Palin winking depicted in LEGOs. It is appropriately grotesque!

*Global Financial Meltdown: Natalie Portman and Rashida Jones frolicking for finance. FROLICKING, I TELL YOU.

*Philanthropy: Local music blog Culture Bully is doing a 60-hour blogathon for charity. I don’t have any idea what a blogathon is.

*I saw Diane Keaton at dinner last night.

