Links for 10.23.08: Bono writes, Dr. Pepper flows, I sing…

by Josh Kimball

*Free things: Please follow this link if you want to learn details about claiming your free “Chinese Democracy” Dr. Pepper. (You must get your coupon on November 23.) If you would like to read an IM conversation between a music blogger and an artificial intelligence program about “Chinese Democracy,” I salute you for at least having a sense of adventure. Also, I love chatting with artificial intelligence software.

*Editorials: Bono wil be writing between 6 and 10 articles for the New York Times op-ed page next year. Consider my subscription cancelled. And consider my IRE RAISED. [huffpo]

*Remixes: Spin names the top 25 MGMT remixes. I have been waiting for this list a long time. [fimoculous]

*Blogs and music: A New York Times music writer lets bloggers pick his music. He then listens to 25 consecutive MGMT remixes. (Actually, it’s for CMJ, but whatever.)

*Art: AC/DC’s new music video (for “Rock N Roll Train”) has been released as ASCII art, in an Excel spreadsheet. Shouldn’t it have been, like, Sigur Ros to do this? I don’t see a lot of alignment between the core AC/DC fan and this medium. Hello? Above all, it seems like a huge coup for Excel. [mashable]

*For your information: Does it surprise you that I’m a huge John Hodgman fan? The A.V. Club interviews the man about his new book, “More Information than You Require.”

Says Hodgman: “Very quickly the proposal for the second book crystallized in my mind. And that proposal was basically more of the same but twice as long. And that’s where I got with the second book. It’s not quite twice as long, but it is considerably and needlessly longer, and that is something I really like.” [largehearted boy]

*Admission: I participated in a Sing Star event earlier this week at which I sang Corinne Bailey Rae’s “Girl Put Your Records On” in a monotonic falsetto. Some scars will never heal.

