Links for 11.10.08: McSweeney’s distills, M.I.A. eats, celebrity urination…

by Josh Kimball

*Things: This McSweeney’s list is kind of like what the listenerd would be if the listenerd were distilled down into nothing but awesomeness, then baked on a sheet of rad and peppered with cardamom. (I don’t know what cardamom is. And I don’t really like the word rad.) [daily swarm]

*Crowdsourcing: At The Next Big Sound, you listen to demos of unsigned bands, pick the ones you think will become popular, then reap the social benefits of being smarter than everyone else. I can’t make the explanation any simpler than that. I’m sorry. [mashable]

*Free music!: eMusic is offering free music through Pizza Hut. The crossover in customers between these two brands cannot be high. IT CANNOT.

*Riders: Do you want to know what M.I.A. likes to eat? You can find out at the Smoking Gun. [stereogum]

*Hardware: Dell is scrapping its plans to build an MP3 player, and will instead focus on software that will compete with iTunes.

*Maximum incontinence: I am a huge public urination fan. Not sure if you knew that. Or if you wanted to know.

*Local: FiveThirtyEight.com looks at the Minnesota Senate race recount. Holy fucking awesome breakdown!

*Parties: You should at least consider attending the Switchblade Comb 1st anniversary party on Friday, November 28 at the Nomad World Pub. I know I would consider it if I weren’t old. And bald.

