Links for 11.17.08: Hank Jr. hits politics, Last.fm data vizzies, Rihanna’s tats…

by Josh Kimball

*Vizzies: Holy. This Last.fm data visualization makes me wish I still used Last.fm. Except for it messing with all my shit and being a total pain in the ass. And embarrassing me with my own bad taste. [duke listens]

*Politics: Hank Williams, Jr. is ready to run for U.S. Senate as a Republican. Say what you want about the guy’s politics, fashion sense, singing, and choice of eyewear — he has a great beard. Or at least he did at one point. [9513]

*Rap: Eminem’s new album, “Relapse” will be released in early 2009. For me, Eminem will always be equated with Dave Chappelle’s chant of “Spaghetti, spaghetti, spaghetti, spaghetti.” [daily swarm]

*Grooming: Sean Combs comments on his genital grooming, “I shave and groom my private areas. It’s a better presentation for me.” Pretty sure one of Moses’ laws was “Thou Shalt Not Present to Thyself.”

*Enigmas: Prince is anti-gay. And spells things his own way. But some people still want to have soup with him. Of his knocking on doors as a Jehovah’s Witness, he says “Sometimes people act surprised, but mostly they’re really cool about it.”

*Tats: Rihanna has the word “Shhh…” tattooed prominently on one of her fingers. It seems ill-advised, though I have myself been considering getting a chicken wearing a birthday hat and holding a cane on my deltoid for the past 1.5 years.

*Ideas: The Boston Glob‘s [sic] Ideas section, if I remember correctly, was the only part of the paper really worth reading. Here’s a recent exploration of what Depression 2.0 might look like. [waxy]

*Tech: Jerry Yang will step down as Yahoo’s CEO as soon as the company’s board can replace him. In punctuation style, Jerry was the lowercase yang to Kanye’s capped YIN.

*Politics: Hillary to accept Obama’s offer of Secretary of State post, according to the Guardian. Who do I think I am? C-fucking-N-N? [huff po]

*Kids: In an out-of-touch article by Joan Acocella, the New Yorker posits that there’s an overparenting epidemic in America. Working mothers, of course, are to blame. The Wall Street Journal‘s The Juggle has extensive commenting on the matter. [Who do I think I am? Dr. Fucking Spock?]

*Maps: Old maps of human brains. We didn’t know shit about not knowing shit back then.

*Hey, look: It’s Bon Iver at the Turf Club! [s4xton]

