Links for 11.19.08: Palin as poet?, Snoop as chef?, Playgirl R.I.P….

by Josh Kimball

*Politics and literature: Should Sarah Palin be the country’s Poet Laureate? In my opinion, she should not be. [largehearted boy]

*Video: Snoop Dogg appears on Martha Stewart, here making a world-famous version of “Cognac Mashed Potatoes.” Presumably to be paired with Gin and Juice.

*Wait: Current.com has partnered with The Take Away Shows for some stuff? How did I not know this before or what am I missing?

*Obits: Sorry, everyone. Playgirl has closed its doors. (The link has a hilarious pic of dudes wearing neckties.) [spin city]

*Yahoo!: Yahoo!, as you may recall, has scrapped its online music store, but they are pressing hard to create a music community. Though apparently not by contacting insanely prolific bloggers directly.

*Guns: If you want Guns n’ Roses’ long-awaited album “Chinese Democracy,” the bloggers say it’s up and around. Chuck Klosterman reviews the album. And wears a crazy beard.

*Beards: Best Week Ever graciously collects a photo montage of some of the beards that appeared at the premiere for the movie Milk.

*More hair: Pete Wentz comments on his grooming habits: “The manscaping? Honestly, I felt slightly overgrown in those pictures. If I had taken them for public consumption, I would have done it differently – groomed a little closer, better lighting.” Sean Combs, take note.

*Note: One thing I despise (mostly about myself) is going through my feed reader in the morning, starring a bunch of items as “To Be Blogged” than finding that the world has blogged them all repeatedly by the evening. It’s tragic, really.

