Links for 11.29.08: 70s rock homes, 93X’s Pablo, videogame addictions…

by Josh Kimball

*More lists: Each year Largehearted Boy keeps an impressive collection of year-end Best Of music lists. Here’s the aggregated list of music lists for 2008.

*Addiction: The vast majority of people who think they’re addicted to videogames – at least enough to seek treatment for it – aren’t. I had a bad Desktop Tower Defense habit for about 6 days, but I broke it when the new Surly seasonal came out. [neural]

*Piano: The New York Times profiles Chinese piano man Lang Lang. I can’t remember ever having been to a Times Topics page before. Does that make me retarded?

*Dwell: Take a little tour of the homes of 70s rock musicians and their parents.

*Genre: Sasha Frere-Jones in the New Yorker on hip-hop artist Steven Ellison, “Reckoner” remixes and fractal hip-hop.

*Holiday weekend question: What would you name your imaginary band? (A: The Sweatpant Boners.)

*Local: Now seems as good a time as any to tell you this – 93X’s Pablo, famous for his Get Trashed Tuesdays, I understand – lives on my block. He has a nice boat.

