Links for 12.2.08: No Coast crafts, Thriller days, NIXON!

by Josh Kimball

*Blogs: MBV launches! A collaboration among Largehearted Boy, Fluxblog, Catbirdseat, Said the Gramophone and Chromewaves, from what I can tell it is a place where old music bloggers go to retire. However, I will say that I love the HUGE type (not kidding).

*Local: The No-Coast Craft-o-rama is happening this weekend in Minneapolis. I am told that it will be replete with handmade stuff of the finest craftsmanship and local shit of the best vintage. I am planning on attending on Friday. I’ll be the fat, bald one wearing the too-short t-shirt and eating an authentic jerked chicken sandwich from the Jamaican place at Midtown Global Market (the event’s venue). And crying.

*Radio: Brian Lambert talks to 89.3 The Current’s new program director, Jim McGuinn, about the radio business. Now that it’s winter and my car needs warming up when I drive it on the weekends, my radio consumption has quadrupled.

*History: 200 hours of tapes (of Nixon talking!) have been released.

*Online music: Mashable puts Last.fm and Pandora up against each other, weighing plusses and minuses of each. I’ve used the services (along with many others), but gave up on both of them. Because I am retarded. And lazy. I’m just being honest.

*Toys: I want a $900 musical toy for Christmas. It needs to be ordered 12 weeks in advance. Please help. It is the Gloggomobil. And I love it. [droolicious]

*Anniversaries: It was 25 years ago today that the music video for Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” came out. I remember seeing it a while later playing on a tv in a mom-and-pop VHS tape rental shop and being FUCKING MESMERIZED.

