Links for 12.23.08: I’m going on vacation after this

by Josh Kimball

*WEIGHTS AND MEASURES: Pete Wentz weighs under 140 pounds. (This article will most probably DISGUST you.) Also, I way 2.5X as much as Fall Out Boy? [caitlin]

*Mashups: Read an essay on Girl Talk. Well, hello! The writer seems to dislike Slate! (This essay is LONG. For the internet.) [rawkblog]

*Graphics: The Ludacris-Proximity Sadness Meter – in which it is scientifically proven that the closer adoring young fans are to rapper Ludacris, the happier they are.

*Feeds: Digg now offers a whole slew of feeds through Twitter. I may come off as a pretentious douche, but I hate using Twitter as a traditional feedreader, and can barely even stomach following heavy linkers. I am there mostly for the art. And I say that without a drop of sarcasm. Seriously. Effers.

*Local: The New York Times takes a look at Minnesota’s Senate recount. Says the Times‘ Editorial Board: “It’s too early to say whether Mr. Franken or incumbent Senator Norm Coleman will win, but one thing is becoming clear. Minnesota is pretty good at running elections.”

*Fashion(?): If you are a THRASHER (as we used to call them), you may want to purchase the Sk8 Wallet, which is made from a recycled skateboarding deck.

*Pimping: As noted on the Jobby Blog, my colleague Hans recently wrote for Slate on the Lipstick Index (an old saw and theoretical – unofficial – recessionary consumption measure) and its more modern iterations.

*NOTE: I am going to CES when I return from vacation. If there’s anything I should see there, please let me know. Warning: I’m not easily enthused.

*Vacation: I am going to the great northland tomorrow. If I don’t return, you can have my blog.

