Links for 1.2.09: Prince’s albums, torrenting records, vinyl bling

by Josh Kimball

*Labels: Open Your Eyes Records distributes all of its new music via BitTorrent. This may come as a shock to you (geek that I am probably perceived to be), but I have never torrented anything. Because I am retarded. And about as impatient as they come.

*Prince: Supposedly, Prince is planning on putting out 3 new albums in 2009. He also seems to be regretting those anti-gay comments in the New Yorker right about now.

*Fashion: Vling is vinyl bling – jewelry made out of old records. There are SKULLS. [spinning indie]

*Sales: Go to Coolfer for charts (with COLORS) breaking out music sales for 2008. All things considered, not bad. I mean, we’re in a global economic meltdown.

*Economy: People are taking less pay in order to have any job at all. I’m crying on the outside. And inside.

*Fashion: The party’s over for makers of novelty New Year’s Eve eyewear.

*Green: Landsharing connects people with the yard space for great gardens with gardeners who want to expand their growing potential. Look, not everything in the world is about music. Also, I’m a shitty gardener.

*Mashups: Jay-Z vs Radiohead = Hovahead. [radiohead at ease]

*Local: Watch some video of Mark Mallman on New Year’s Eve at MNStories.

*Twitter: Tweetree actually looks pretty useful – though if I can’t star things from inside it, I can’t use it.

*Food: Where the Wild Things Are bento boxes. Wow. [neatorama]

