Links for 1.17.09: Painted books, pictures of records, Legos of history…

by Josh Kimball

*Art: Painting books is a lot like watching videos of phonographs. “In the end, these paintings stand against loss and for reverie, memory, optimism, desire, and love,” says the artist of his work.

*Records: View one woman’s K-Tel record collection through the lens of Flickr. [murketing]

*Film: Pitchfork.tv is allowing access to the movie “Joy Division” in its entirety on their site for the next week. [hypetrak]

*Communications: A website whereupon Ze Frank talks about what he does – Posts are titled “Awareness of Audience” or “Central personae vs. algorithm.”

*Economics: 95% of music downloads are illegal. [tds]

*Politics: Tuesday’s presidential inauguration has been precreated in Legos. (PRECREATED? Did I just? Did I?)

*I feel like I should have added more context to all these links, but I was too tired. If it’s possible for you to do, you should trust me – they’re good. Thank you.

