Links for 1.21.09: Obama’s media FX, Kanye’s mullet, Beastie art…

by Josh Kimball

*The Inauguration: This is probably worth a longer post – and I may do one for the jobby blog – but during President Obama’s inauguration yesterday, Google traffic dropped while Twitter traffic spiked (along with a bounce in traffic for Flickr and other social sites). Eschewing their habitual seeking of a-temporal information in a time of excitement, people reached out to each other.

*Hair: I, for one, love Kanye West’s black mullet (or “blullet”). But then again, I’m bald. FOREVER.

*Artwork: Putting Ad Rock in religious art isn’t blasphemy, it’s business. And blasphemy. Probably. Technically. (Works of art that include the Beastie Boys.) [hinto]

*Lists: JamsBio lists The Beatles’ songs from worst to best.

*Criticism: Pitchfork gives Bon Iver’s new Blood Bank EP a 7.9. (I am typing this with 8 fingers.)

*Twitter: Cursebird offers potty mouths a real-time look at all the swearing that’s happening on Twitter. Right now, fuck is winning. FUCK IS WINNING!!!!! (Here is my personal swearing graph.) [poploser]

*Earnings: Apple reports record earnings for its most recent quarter. iPods kill, though the iPhone was a tad ill. And by that I mean that sales did not meet expectations.

*Covers: Bonny “Prince” Billy covers Danzig’s “Am I Demon.” [cameronr]

