Links for 1.31.09: Peakniks, baby BlackBerries, “mellifluous”

by Josh Kimball

*Mixed media: You know how I love mixed media. Unless you accidentally came here through some who-knows-how-relevant search terms. Check out these book covers made for films.

*Coinage: Peakniks = people who believe the best has come and gone. Peak oil, peak carbon, peak debt, peak beer…

*Toys: Your child needs a BlackBerry just as badly as you do. [rob t]

*Topography: Look over this hot dog map of West Virginia. I have never been to West Virginia. And I hate relish. HATE IT.

*Ink: Tattoos of food. FOOD. DELICIOUS, DELICIOUS FOOD. [murketing]

*Twitter: Waxy points out this Google spreadsheet of musicians on Twitter. (Most of them are very bad. I’m just saying.) Wait. Willie Nelson?

*Directory: New Yorker music writer Sasha Frere-Jones offers a directory of people on Twitter. I was unable to identify myself among them. Sad.

*Language: GOOD magazine points to the 100 most beautiful words in the English language. I was going to be pissed if mellifluous wasn’t on there. But then it was.

*Music: This generator allows you to create music from any text file. Is this utter fucking bullshit?

