Links for 2.2.09: Live Nation Ticketmaster merger, Jonas Brothers downsize!?!?

by Josh Kimball

*Mergers: The WSJ is reporting that Live Nation and Ticketmaster want to merge, creating Live Nation Ticketmaster. Good lord.

*Economics: It’s time to downsize a Jonas Brother. [This is fake.] (Is that the first time I’ve mentioned the Jonas Brothers on this blog? Despite my long-time personal interest in them? WAIT. WHAT?) [ypulse]

*Blogging: Carrie Fisher has a blog, and talks about her salad days. Or whatever. Wearing a metal bikini. That was plastic. [mefi – WHICH IS DOWN??]

*Household: Speaking of metal, they’ve been making the rounds, but maybe you need to brush up on your heavy metal laundry tips. “NEVER USE FABRIC SOFTENER ON METAL SHIRTS.” I have a classic Hawkwind shirt that my uncle gave me from First Avenue that is softer than the finest Corinthian leather. However, I have NEVER used fabric softener on it. Just gin. And smoke. And human hair. [lisanti]

*Posters: There’s a show of rock posters with Big Lebowski themes called “This Aggression Will Not Stand, Man: A Group Show of Prints Inspired by the Cult Classic The Big Lebowski.” [pop candy]

*Twitter: The New York Times offers up a visualization of people’s twittering keywords during the Super Bowl.

*Retail: Bruce Springsteen apologizes for giving an exclusive deal to Wal-Mart for his next album. “We were in the middle of doing a lot of things, it kind of came down and, really, we didn’t vet it the way we usually do. We just dropped the ball on it. Given [Wal-Mart’s] labour history, it was something that if we’d thought about it a little longer, we’d have done something different. It was a mistake.”

*Musicians who Twitter: One of my most popular posts ever has been Musicians who Twitter (which is weirdly the top Google result for that particular search) . Now that old-boy’s (man’s?) club MBV covers the evolution of Twitter music postings, maybe we can all stop trying to look up musicians on Twitter. I’m just looking for peace in life. That’s it. Just peace.

*Metaverse: Busta Rhymes is debuting new music in Grand Theft Auto.

*I feel like I’m falling behind. Due to tiredness. Also, I think I need to stretch my legs a little. Bear with me, please.

