Links for 3.9.09: Twitter radio, must-own albums, Lemmy’s ‘stache…

by Josh Kimball

*Beamcast: No word from Sam Beam yet on the podcast I have proposed he record with me. I’ll be honest: I’ve spent the past 3 weeks crying, crying into my cupped hands.

*Twitter: ♬.ws is also known as Musebin. And it helps you search for music on Twitter. The music stuff happening around Twitter is interesting in a theoretical sort of way, but I am – as a user – part of the lazy middle, and still haven’t discovered any music-specific Twitter applications that have lit my fire. [tds]

*More Twitter: One experimenter is sorting tweets by sentiment and broadcasting them over the radio. (There’s video! Of radio! Kind of.)

*Furthermore: More people I know have been joining twitter lately and hating on it. This post from Online Fandom is as in tune with the possibilities of the medium as anything else I’ve read – especially point 5) “Twitter is temporal and cumulative”. OK, I’m done with twitter again.

*Men: Esquire goes all prescriptive, and tells the world the 75 albums every human male should own. Any asshole who’s ever heard the old saw “Build a house, plant a tree, write a book…” knows that “The Best of Elmo” needs to be on there. OK. I could be wrong.

*YouTube: Muziic pulls music off YouTube for streaming. I find the interface to be haunting. In a bad way. Like Linkin Park.

*More YouTube: RockPeaks is a collection of live music performances pulled from YouTube. [waxy]

*Pictures: Time runs the Cobbe oil painting, supposedly the only portrait of the bard made while he was alive. Weird, since everyone knows Shakespeare never existed. [mefi]

*Pop: Sasha Frere-Jones takes on Neko Case in the New Yorker. “I’m kind of the horn section of any band I’m in.”

*Hair: The 5 most important moustaches in music. LEMMY. [spinner]

*Loops: The Mimi Switch would allow one to control his or her iPod by blinking. [textually]

*Local: Brother Ali’s “The Truth is Here” EP gets a 7.4 from Peefork. Numbers are weird, and that’s why I keep looking at them, I think.

*Today: C, due to quantity. And too much effing Web 2.0 B.S.

