Links for 3.24.09: Hipster Depression, vodka gummis, Neil Young…

by Josh Kimball

*Economy: Forget the recession, there’s a Hipster Depression. With beards. And toenails, I’m sure.

*Photographs: Wired snapped a bunch of pictures at SXSW. Now they’re asking you to guess – Band or Fan? Poor parallelism! [murketing]

*Cooking: If you like vodka and gummi bears, you will love making your own vodka gummi bears. You could also just buy a huge bag of gummi bears and a bottle of vodka. [neatorama]

*Newspapers: Examine this NYT visualization of newspapers size and indicating the dire straits some are in. Also, here’s a list of newspapers the Silicon Alley Insider thinks will survive the financial meltdown. I don’t mean to sound unappreciative, but I don’t appreciate the Star Tribune at all. OK, I meant to say that. [waxy]

*Twitter: A song about Twitter. On a blog. Reading those words, I hate the English language for its flexibility. And myself. [shorties] Also, check out this list of the 50 Best Rock Star Twitters from Stereogum. Also, I’ve been following @arjunbasu, one of the subjects of this article, for several monhts. What he’s doing works.

*Music: The Neil Young Archives, long talked about, will open up for superfans in early June. The details are here. [daily loper]

*Today’s links: D+. Not enough quips. Or interesting shit. Pass the gummi bears.

