Links for 3.31.09: U2, The Quiet Coup, Twit Wit…

by Josh Kimball

  • Declaration: I don’t believe in April Fool’s Day.
  • BONO: The New Yorker‘s Sasha Frere-Jones does NOT trash Bono. Have I mentioned that I don’t like Bono? Or his glasses? And that kids used to call me Joshua Tree?
  • Economy: Walgreen’s is offering free quickie clinic trips to the newly unemployed.
  • I’m bookmarking this. Oh fuck, this is my work computer. Remind me, people, if necessary.

  • Economy: Read “The Quiet Coup” in The Atlantic – “In its depth and suddenness, the U.S. economic and financial crisis is shockingly reminiscent of moments we have recently seen in emerging markets (and only in emerging markets): South Korea (1997), Malaysia (1998), Russia and Argentina (time and again).” [keating]
  • Mothering: The picture that follows is not of an alien. [callmebez]
  • Twitter: The guy who’s editing Twit Wit, a book on twitter humor made from other people’s tweets, thinks nobody is funny on Twitter. Twitter. Twitter.
  • Local: Check out these photos of the Red River flooding. Moving earth, sandbagging, homes underwater. [good]
  • Crying: If you’re not crying into your cupped hands right now, maybe you should watch an old, old Leonard Cohen sing “Hallellujah” at his comeback concert. The guy’s no Jeff Buckley. KIDDING! (Don’t kill me.)
  • Today’s links: F+. Too heavy, bad quips, links mediocre and my fucking bullets now look weird. Buck the fuck up or go home, Joshua Tree.
