Links for 4.30.09: White rappers, vinyl portraits, lanyards…

by Josh Kimball

*Art: Check out these portraits of musicians drawn on vinyl Daniel Edlen. Reminds me of the “drawings” done with magnetic cassette tapes. [coudal]

*Hip-hop: Vulture writes up a history of white rappers. Remember Pete Nice? He’s on there. Probably my favorite rap name, due to its pleasantness.

*Blogs: Here’s my Dickens URLhttp://dickensurl.com/834a/Hes_tough_maamtough_is_J_B_tough_and_devilish_sly [presurfer]

*Hang: A Swine Flu poster on your wall? I thought I had SARS for a while. Also, anthrax. Years ago. (I’m not joking.) [eyeteeth]

*Lists: You will notice one blog that is NOT listed in the Hipster Handbook. My beard growing begins NOW. [shorties]

*Crafts: Sublime Stitching has made some of Daniel Johnston’s art into crafty needlepointy things. [pop candy]

*Fashion: Wear a lanyard with a rain hood on it. And thank me when you are complimented on it. Or thank baileygenine.

*Books: Gwyneth Paltrow reads Eric Carle. This is like the Arcade Fire being used for a “Where the Wild Things Are” trailer or something. Oh.Da

