Links for 5.3.09: Conceptual consumption, sexy frontmen and Simplify Media

by Josh Kimball

*Workish: Dangerously close to a work-centric link, but here’s an article of “conceptual consumption.” [murketing]

*Web: I am trying to play with this Simplify Media thing. I am a man of limited patience. My name there is “edx.” Add me, if you want to see – and listen to – the terrible music I have in my collection. (It is awful.)

*Prose: Boner Party, on the nature of “cool” – “the period from Jennifer Grey to Jenny McCarthy lays a veritable goldmine of fun, rad babes – before post-post modern irony and apathy for the sake of apathy came in and ruined everything, when you could have a can Budweiser at a barbeque and still listen to Hüsker Du at the same time without getting shit from a dude with non prescription “child molester” glasses and a bad mustache.” Very well put.

*The Internet: See this timeline of internet memes. I wish it were cleaner. The look of it. I don’t know if I’m making sense right now or not. [spincity]

*Dudes: Nerve chose the sexiest frontmen of all time. No Lemmy? HELLO? Also, Iggy Pop crushes John Lennon and Elvis. [music slut]

*Local/music: The Hold Steady did a Daytrotter session. WEARING TWINS HATS. [buzzmedia]

*Today’s links: Not great, but it’s a gorgeous day, so D-.

