Links for 5.12.09: Mead, twitter, beards, non-photos, unbrands and MORE

by Josh Kimball

*Things I Hate: What this article from GOOD fails to tell you is that mead tastes like a combination of old mushrooms, dog shit and a nickel you’ve been carrying around in your ass crack.

*Covers: I forgot to post this yesterday. Because my brain cells are slipping away. If there were such a thing as listenerdbait, this would be it. Album covers reimagined as Penguin book covers.

*Negatives: Unphotographable offers prose accounts of pictures not taken. WHICH IS EXACTLY THE KIND OF SHIT I TOTALLY LOVE. (It would be nice if there were some more mundane ones, though.) [magnetbox]

*Idol: Is American Idol fixed? I once watched this show for an entire season. And I have the scars to prove it (they are emotional scars). [vulture]

*BEAMCAST: Iron and Wine’s Sam Beam has steadfastly refused to do a podcast with me. And yet he is streaming “Around the Well” on his MySpace page. Inconsistent much, jerk face? OH no. I didn’t mean it. I’m sorry. I got emotional. Ugh.

*Branding: Product Displacement is a blog that tracks instances of fictionalized brands’ appearances in movies and TV, as well as unbrandings (the removal of branding from real companies). [murketing]

*Twitter: Paste tried to compile a list of the 10 funniest twitterers. Other than Bad Banana, this is an awful list. OK, Michael Ian Black is fine, too. Please stick to what you’re good at, Paste – which is releasing free compilation albums once a year in conjunction with eMusic. [spincity] Also: If Kanye were on Twitter, he might be one of the funniest. Based on this.

*Facial hair: Being a hierarchy of beards. I have grown a beard of my own in the past week. And now I must slaughter a fatted calf with my bare hands. [buzzfeed]

*Today’s links: C-. I’m not embarrassed by them for the first time in nearly 15 years.

