Links for 7.20.09: Bro-core, music recognition, 8-bit bullshit…

by Josh Kimball

*Genres: If there really is a sub-genre of heavy metal music called bro-core, I want to be a part of it. Brohitos? Are you with me? I’m willing to play bass. If that’s allowed in bro-core.

*Music: The BBC does a piece on song recognition technology (like Shazam) and advancement in said field. You can say “said” even though you typed it. I looked that up.

*Money: The Wall Street Journal looks at the business side of Jack White. Pasty. [shorties]

*Music: Listen to an 8-bit tribute to Weezer. If you’re nerdy enough. (Please know that I only used the word “bullshit” above because it rhymed.) [waxy]

*Twitter: Trent Reznor deleted his account. Now how do we know what he ate for breakfast?

*Shirts: Kanye Vader is like Darth Vader, but with shuttered glasses. Hence the Kanye part. [spin city]

*Reading: Five twitter things to read.

