Links for 7.23.09: Metal beards, Palin tics, Boner prose…

by Josh Kimball

*Polls: One of the most important questions of our time – Are beards metal? (I voted “not metal.” The results may shock the fuck out of you.)

*Feed readers: Two very good posts about the future of RSS feeders and idea recommendation. I obviously have a lot to say about these matters and not a lot of free time to say it. The interesting thing about my previous statements that I considered twitter a recommendation engine for ideas is that the people I follow don’t ever link to anything.

*The Future: You can’t throw a neon disc without hitting a blog talking about upcoming Tron-themed Daft Punk events. Or maybe that’s just among the blogs I read. Hmf.

*Green: Carrotmobbing is gimmicky. It’s also been one of my favorite ideas since I first saw it for the day job way back.

*Local: Recently deceased St. Paul musician Jeff Hanson’s autopsy showed that he died of a drug overdose. UGH. [tds]

*Local: The Telegraph on Bob Dylan and the Hibbing High School class of ’59 reunion. [mnspeak]

*Discovery: I used to cover a lot more Web 2.0 music discovery recommendation engine shit on this blog. Then I got bored with it. Still, Ghostly (for the iPhone) looks pretty cool. Well. It has a ghost. [notcot]

*Prose: Sexist, maybe. Boner Party, though? Yes.

*Editorial: Vanity Fair marks up Sarah Palin’s resignation speech. To be fair, if an editor went through a transcript of me talking for 20 minutes, it would be an enormous red knot.

*Video: The Wikipedia Files, a five-part video interview of The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne by the Chicago Public Radio Blog. [coudal]

*Apology: Late to so much. The dude won’t sleep.

