Links for 8.24.09: Motivation, MP3s, American excess and slang…

by Josh Kimball

*Video: I’ve been thinking for hours about how to get you to watch this video. I’ve got nothing.

*Technology: Pitchfork publishes a social history of the MP3. Whoa; this is the kind of essay the Daily Swarm should start publishing. But with better pacing.

*Food: One thing I love about America is its ingenuity. (Click that link only if you love Kentucky Fried Chicken. And excess. And think that the Famous Bowl is a marvel of the imagination.)

*On language: Slang is one of my favorite topics to think about. If I were ever to get off my ass (and out of my day job) and do a web project, it would be around the front lines of language. [ypulse]

*Voices: Sasha Frere-Jones writes about Leonard Cohen old and new in the New Yorker. I have not seen the documentary in question, but the prospect of seeing Mr. Cohen in his boxer shorts has compelled me to add it to the queue.

*Reviews: I love these one-star reviews from Amazon. On Moby Dick: “Too nautical for me.”

*Hip-hop: Being your guide to Russian hip-hop fashions. [buzzfeed]

*Books: If you need to buy a book of tweets, do it through this link. (The affiliate money goes to @TheDayHasCome and his family. Or just donate money instead.)

*Local: Listenerd co-worker No Bird Sing have an album coming out soon. You can listen to it, even though MySpace is putting the kibosh on autoplay. [chuckles]

