Links for 8.28.09: Ronald shot, Sodomized by Satan, Pop-Tart gorillas…

by Josh Kimball

*Obit: DJ AM was found dead in his New York apartment.

*Fast food: The Jack in the Box guy violently attacks Ronald McDonald – a dramatic (and possibly disturbing) painting. [eat me daily]

*Nerdery: Burning Man has an API. In honor of Burning Man, I’m wearing a Dorothy dress and goggles. Who am I kidding? What’s Burning Man? Is it happening now? Why am I wearing goggles? [mefi]

*Prose: One of the finest linear collections of words I’ve seen in years – “Sodomized by Satan is a one-man bedroom acoustic black metal band out of New York.” – Metal Sucks

*Trailer: Kurt Cobain on Guitar Hero. [fimoculous]

*Words: How do you pronounce Beyonce? Let us count the ways. (There’s only one way.)

*Followups: If you follow me on Twitter (which I do not recommend), you may recall my mentioning a local news story about an off-duty cop POSSIBLY giving a Pop-Tart to a gorilla at the local zoo. Here is that story.

*Art: Frankly, I don’t know if this stuff is any good or not, but for maybe a decade “America’s foremost miniaturist” has been one of my favorite sayings (in a variety of contexts). Another of my favorite sayings has been “eccentric polymath Jello Biafra.”

*Grade: F

