Links for 9.5.09: ALL CAPS, Sub Pop sneakers, 8-bit wine

by Josh Kimball

*Type: Caps lock can get you fired. See what I did there? I could have, and probably should have, used all caps for dramatic effect. But I zagged. It’s a habit. I also let it mellow, but that’s a different habit and an entirely different topic. And an unsavory one at that. Someone please stop my fingers from typing. [richardovich]

*Fashion: Indie athletes? Buy Sub Pop sneakers! I got this link from STEREOGUM. How long has it been since I linked to Stereogum? I bet it’s been months. And I’m pretty religious about noting where shit comes from.

*Drinks: 8-bit Vintners is a winemaking facility for nerds. I wish there were a way for me to convey to you how true that previous sentence is. Without begging. I’ve done what I can here.

*Apps: T-Pain’s autotune iPhone app is the talk of the internet right now. Imagine me saying that in an autotune voice. If you don’t know my voice, imagine a fat guy talking into an empty coffee can.

*Data: Google, in their quest to organize the world’s information, has now made it easier for Americans to monitor key domestic financial trends. It’s pretty gorgeous.

*Delightful: Please read this spellchecked version of Jabberwocky. There is something to be said here, I think, about the Jorge Luis Borges’ story “Pierre Menard, Author of the Quixote” and also about modern techno-corporate lobotomization. I am particularly interested in lobotomies right now. Not sure why. Not sure why. Not sure why. Not sure why. Hello! [harper’s]

*Grade: F

