Links for 9.13.09: Tajik Jimmy, Bukowski’s Barf-ly, Jim Carroll

by Josh Kimball

*The Internet: Sent to me from my friend in Soviet Georgia, this story of the popularity of Bollywood tunes performed by Tajik box loader Baimurat Allaberiyev will move you to tears. Tajik Jimmy might also be the best nickname since “The Big Unit.” [richardovich]

*Film: Charles Bukowski’s lover, Linda King, reviews Mickey Rourke’s “Barfly.” Acquaintances of mine will know that I like this movie primarily because I enjoy pronouncing it as BARF-LY. Get it, barf? (It means the same as vomit.)

*Photos: Busted Carbon is a blog of photos of broken carbon fiber bicycle components. Have I told you about my derailing problem? How about my armpit sweat problem? [coudal]

*Anagrams: The proper anagram for “the Listenerd” is “INTEREST HELD.” Coincidence? Hello? Are you still paying attention? [tobs]

*Work-related: Listenerd co-worker-guitared band No Bird Sing drops an album and gets some love from the Star Tribune. On the minus, side, if you click that link, you have to go to the execrable Star Tribune web site.

*Politics: Video from The UpTake of Obama talking about healthcare at the Target Center in Minneapolis this weekend.

*Obits: Jim Carroll died.

*Note: I am going away for a while now. Camping.

