Links for 9.24.09: Marilyn Manson has contracted Swine Flu (and other links)

by Josh Kimball

*Medicine: Marilyn Manson has contracted swine flu. I have no droll commentary to make regarding this tidbit. But I will say that odds are, this contraction was latex related.

*Robotics: The Old Robots site shows images of robots as seen through the lens of the 1980s. I love stories and images of futures past. I say that with complete sincerity. [presurfer]

*Photography: By taking portrait photographs of 100 strangers, you are not only risking arrest, you are participating in the 100 Strangers project. Which could be fun. Or dangerous. [coudal]

*Marketing: Seth Godin: Brandjacker? On a related note, Squidoo is still repellent, years later. I’m repelled right now!

*Twitter: Justine Bateman has no idea what’s going on online or in the world, informing @badbanana, the drollest man on Twitter, to “GET YOUR TWITTER ACCOUNT TOGETHER and stop this attempt to shove your posts into other people’s feeds.” She also calls Daring Fireball’s John Gruber “human waste,” which might be more acceptable if it were in the context of professional sports fandom.

*Television: Mad Men fans ask if Dr. Pepper was really around in New York in 1963.

*Birds: Wild turkeys have been terrorizing New Jersey. They do it so we don’t have to. On a side note, I don’t partake of Wild Turkey due to a binging incident that occurred in 2003. Let’s speak no more of it. [katemuhl]

*Film: HBO Imagine shows movies you can help edit. At least for you. Kind of. [fimoculous]

*Interfaces: Check out the interactive site for music videos by Chinese rapper Chinza Dopeness. [notcot]

*Language: Fei Si Bu Ke (say it out loud!) means “doomed to die” in Chinese. See what they did there?

*Comics: What if Bukowski wrote Peanuts? Those of you familiar with my youthful literary indiscretions will know that I once had a bumper sticker that said “I’d rather be reading Bukowski.” And a car full of old newspapers. I also weighed 156 lbs at the time. Long story. [bf again]

*Words: Motivated Grammar is a grammar blog that I just became aware of through Harper’s. Those of you who know me will know that I hate grammar. And words. And their rules. It’s all a confidence game that I grow weary of.

*Vacation: If you are wondering how my vacation was, please examine this picture of me wearing a beret and rolled up pants and holding a 3.75-lbs walleye while sitting in a canoe.

*Grade: Perpetual F.

