Links for 9.27.09: Blood lamps, movie poster mashups, Safire dies…

by Josh Kimball

*Lighting: The blood lamp requires a drop of blood to give off light. They should make a blood internet. [neatorama]

*Mashups: Two movies, one poster. We are all mashups now. There will be posters. I’m all out of lazy headlines. [videogum]

*Head injuries: Alcohol is good for head injuries. Buy me a beer someday and I will tell you about my roommate from freshman year in college, who loved cheese curds and Mountain Dew and fell down a flight of stairs drunk one night and bashed his head. Great times. Great times. [harper’s]

*Inspirational bullshit: A couple things to read or look at, if you like reading or looking at things. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

*Obits: William Safire died. The Nixon stuff, I wasn’t that crazy about. The weird word stuff was pretty cool, though. Also, I think he inspired one of my favorite Onion pieces. Also, holy fuck, one of my favorite Onion pieces is almost ten years old? (I was reading the Onion – stories about Jesus leaking beer from his stigmata – back when it was on paper, and only available in Madison.)

*Today’s grade: F. Keep striving.

