Links for 10.27.09: Chinese, cupcakes, beer, gourds

by Josh Kimball

*Look: Chris Ware in the New Yorker. There are iPhones.

*Alert: Some Taco Bells serve cupcakes. I would like mine filled with hot sauce. Please. (That’s not a euphemism.) [harper’s]

*Green: Check out this vinyl that’s been bent, pounded, shaped and reused.

*The future: Eric Schmidt, CEO of Google, says that in 5 years, the web will be dominated by Chinese-language content. Get this: I don’t even speak Chinese. Also, ICANN has approved non-Latin characters for domain names.

*Food: Anthony Bourdain is doing some animated web-only short video bullshit that isn’t even about food. Also, it looks like there could be zombies. Or their close brethren.

*Beer: I cannot agree with this list of the 25 best beers in America, but I can drink them. With vigor.

*Gaming: Watch this dude play Guitar Hero without a guitar. You will note that I sometimes also play Guitar Hero without a guitar, but that my score is always zero. Always. [waxy]

*Local: Guides to eating in Minneapolis from Zagat and Treehugger. [ht]

*Fall: It’s decorative gourd season. [spin city]

*Today’s links: F.

