Links for 11.13.09: Donuts, cassette tapes, Beard Rock and Alaska

by Josh Kimball

*Food: On two separate occasions this week I have come across Visual Taxonomies of Donuts. Which, coincidentally, will be the name of my fourth fake novel (hence the caps; I’m not an anarchist, for God’s sake).

*Photography: Do you like looking at pictures of cassettes? If you answered no, maybe you weren’t thinking about highly aestheticized cassettes. [coudal]

*Graphs: Examine this visualization of UK music revenue, broken down by subcategories such as recorded revenue, live revenue, etc.

*Graphs 2: Are peak oil and peak rock related? Think of Beirut as a Prius. And your ears as the road. Right? [harper’s]

*Facial hair: NPR is worried about the takeover of Beard Rock. I’m worried about the takeover of Beard Smell. Because it’s easy to get food caught in there. Especially liquids. Or semi-liquids.

*Real estate: It turns out, Alaska was a bad purchase. “The economic benefits that have been received from Alaska over the years could have been obtained without purchasing the territory. In financial terms, Alaska has clearly been a negative net present value project for the United States.” Remind me to tell you about when I bought a motorcycle from a sketchy guy who insisted on changing the title over himself (instead of letting me do it) next time you see me.

*Aesthetics: Jim Windolf writes On Cuteness in Vanity Fair. Personally, I hate cute things. Due to a childhood fall down the stairs. Or so I hear. [hans]

*Jobby job: Check out the video on this post from the jobby blog. It shows a few different ways people count money across the world. It’s probably been 4 years since I had more than any 6 bills on my person.

*Music: Maura has left Idolator. Nielsen is MAYBE putting Billboard on the block. These things make me feel old. In internet years. And years.

*Twitter: Read these four things. Related: I have a lot to say about the retweet feature. It will bore me as much to write it as it will bore you to read it. So there’s that to look forward to.

*Today’s links: F. Goodbye forever.

