Links for 12.1.09: Why did Walt Whitman wear jeans?

by Josh Kimball

*Rumor: Remastered vinyl LPs from the Beatles to be released in March. Also, I have a few Beatles albums on my computer, so I can listen to them pretty much whenever. Super easy!

*Odor: M cologne is made from Michael Jackson’s DNA. I hope that’s not a euphemism. Do you know what I mean? If you don’t, please don’t look it up. [vulture]

*Food: Examine these ketchup packets that look like landmines. Wow.

*Drink: Tactical Nuclear Penguin beer has 32% alcohol content. I could not have conceived of a better name. Except possibly Vomit Gong. Or Ketchup Packet Landmines. (I don’t know where that came from; I just tried to channel my id.) [harper’s]

*Fashion: “If Whitman wore jeans, he wore them because they were the clothes of the rebellious, not because they were the affordable uniform of the pretty.” Also, was that really Walt Whitman reading? I thought it was a dude from the Waltons. (I’m not being droll about that last part!)

*Social media: What this article calls “checkins” have previously been called pings or gestures. It’s all a part of the attention economy. Which is actually a system akin to a language. I’m sure you get it. I don’t have the patience to explain further.

*Twitter: If you haven’t seen these Twitter avatars drawn by @apelad, you should see them. Because they are awesome.

*Technology: Knocking is an iPhone app that allows you to see through other people’s iPhone cameras. WHAT? It’s mobile-to-mobile live sharing! (I took that last part right from their site as I tried to confirm what it actually did.) Also, it seems like perverts would love this. [coudal]

*Music: Golden Fiddle grabbed Zach Galifinakis’ iTunes playlist. Funny word, Galifinakis. Heh.

*Today’s links: F

