Links for 12.3.09: I don’t care for Farmville.

by Josh Kimball

*The Web: Did Vladimir Nabokov invent the emoticon? As I have mentioned before, the only emoticon I ever use is the emotionless one. And the side hugs, of course.

*Bowie on Bowie: Check out this letter written by a 20-year-old David Bowie to a young American fan in 1967. Nipple antennae. [stereogum!?]

*Videogames: Michael Jackson composed music for the videogame Sonic the Hedgehog 3 (anonymously). Apparently, this had long been a rumor in the Sonic the Hedgehog community. Yes, the Sonic the Hedgehog community. If you don’t love this item, you don’t love America. Or bloat. [waxy]

*Annual: Last.fm gives you the best of 2009 in music data. 24,963,595 Michael Jackson songs scrobbled over the course of the year. Heh. Scrobbled.

*Literature: We’re looking for William Shakespeare’s garbage now. I hope we find some of his journals, which will prove once and for all that he was illiterate. [harper’s]

*Religion: MetalforJesus.org. I recommend the section called Long Hair and the Bible. But I do not recommend the fonts. [metalsucks]

*Illustrations: Do you want to see the street Tom Waits grew up on? I was expecting more gravel. And I hope you see what I did there. [harper’s]

*Twitter: Read these four things.

*Today’s grade: F

