Links for 12.7.09: I may start updating my Facebook status.

by Josh Kimball

*News: Apple bought Lala. (Hypebot offers this round-up of opinion on the acquisition from across the web.) I saw Lala CEO Bill Nguyen speak at a music discussion at CES last year, and he blew away everyone else on the panel with his smarts and enthusiasm. Does an Apple acquisition of this sort really mean hope for imminent innovation in digital music is waning?

*Note to interested parties: I have obtained a Kickstarter invite and am commencing my pitch for a project that will BOMB THE MOON again. This time, on our terms. (Also, I’m not kidding. And I may need help.)

*Hollywood: Someone keeps changing the Wikipedia page of actor Ron Livingston to say that he’s gay, and that he’s been having relations with someone named Lee Dennison. This is why Wikipedia is better than normal encyclopedias. Also, you can’t be sued for laughing uproariously, can you? CAN YOU?

*Obit: Robert Degen, possible author of “The Hokey Pokey,” has died. That’s what it’s all about. Death. And silence. And blackness.

*Literature: The New Yorker runs a David Foster Wallace story, “All That.” If a Foster Wallace piece doesn’t explicitly upbraid me for not understanding the English language, I don’t want to read it. Or should I say, I don’t WANTS to read it?

*Art: Michael Jackson commissioned some weird art when he was alive. If you even look at it, you may be able to sue. [vulture]

*Presidents: A new letter from Thomas Jefferson has been discovered. It’s not about wine. Or wenching. [harper’s]

*Twitter: Favrd got shut down. I used the site to find smart, interesting people, but I don’t think I was part of the “community” that formed around it. The back and forth between Dean Allen, who used to run the site, and Jeffrey Zeldman is fantastic. As is Mike_FTW’s eulogy. And Merlin Mann‘s.

*Lists: Kottke is doing a list various Best of the 2000s lists. If you smell it hard enough, you can smell Newsweek.

*Local: I went to the No Coast craft show this weekend. The aesthetic was depressingly uniform. Also, lots of babies. Also, Midtown Global Market has a shitty parking set-up that needs to be fixed. BUT: I recommend Campfire for t-shirts and the like.

*Today’s links: F

