Links for 12.29.09: I am a sick man. I am a spiteful man.

by Josh Kimball

*Reading: The Awl’s “The End of the 00s” has essays. By people. About things past. Those people include: Joel Johnson (I wrote about being a new dad for a week for his medium-lived Dethroner), Maura Johnston (formerly of Idolator, she hates dropped-crotch trousers), Will Leitch (we were going to do a video interview with him at a conference for my day job for a while, until the video interviewing devices exploded), and Rob Walker (whom I now read less for consumed than for his other projects). And many other people. Ugh. People.

*Lists: Before you read THIS, you should know that if I were forced to either choose a favorite author or be mock-executed, I’d say Dostoyevsky. (In order of likedness: Brothers K, Notes from Underground, Crime and P, The Idiot, The Gambler, The Double.) I should also note that I don’t think the list is particularly accurate. Like, except for a few authors that she nails, it’s offish. UGH.

*Art: Look at these books you don’t even have to read anymore. [notcot]

*Social Media: The track the most Last.fm users wanted hidden from their scrobbles was Lady Gaga’s “Poker Face.” I must say, Lady Gaga has grown on me. Like a skin on a glass of egg nog. Delicious, delicious egg nog. [fimoculous]

*Video: Stereogum has collected the 10 Most NSFW Music Videos of 2009. On a somewhat related note, I used to love Stereogum. I used to wait for new posts (they were written by Scott). I used to read them. I used to read the comments. I used to chuckle at the comments. I thought I should say that. It was a long time ago.

*People: Wikipedia on Andrew W.K. – “Popular memes and subcultural rumours suggest that another person, known as “Steev Mike”, is behind Andrew W.K.’s music.” This reminds me of the theory that it wasn’t William Shakespeare who wrote the works of William Shakespeare, but someone else named William Shakespeare. A theory which, incidentally, I love. [the daily swarm]

*Vinyl: Look! It’s Allen Ginsburg made out of vinyl. I was never much of a Ginsburg fan. Too easy.

*Literature: Abe Books’ Weird Book Room presents such titles as “Tattooed Mountain Women and Spoon Boxes of Daghestan.” Too easy? [harper’s]

*Local: Holy. A VERY skinny Craig Finn, along with Lifter Puller, doing a St. Cloud, Minnesota gig. Forever ago.

*Local blogging: Here’s an interview with Ed Kohler of The Deets about his recent poltical blogging. Also, he’s done some examinations of Twitter noise recently that have been sort of interesting. (Close readers of the ‘nerd may recall that I once wanted to make a qualitative inquiry into local Twitter users’ signal-versus-noise, but was unable to do so due to personal stupidity.)

*Today’s links: F

