Links for 1.4.10: 12 Tips for Better Abs

by Josh Kimball

*Personal: My computer broke last week, my Blackberry died months ago and I’ve been stranded offline for the past four days. In that time I read three books and had two original thoughts. It was incredible. I’m thinking about becoming an expert on the Civil War or curing warts. MAYBE.

*Nature: The question weighing on so many people’s (and dolphins’) minds right now is:

Why is Bono allowed to write op-eds for the New York Times?
Also: Should dolphins be granted human status?
And, consequently: Who is the dolphin Bono?
Then: Should the dolphin Bono be allowed to write New York Times op-eds?
And finally: How do you cock-punch a dolphin? In the cock.

*Information: Read the Hype Machine’s 2009 Music Zeitgeist. There’s also a Zeitgeist radio show. Of sorts.

*Blogs: If you aren’t sick of blogs yet, Fimoculous has published his yearly list of blogs to watch. Personally, I hate blogs. But I heartily recommend Snarkmarket and Eat Me Daily. Another blog I recently found, and would recommend, is the tumblr of Pocketmonsterd.

*Tags: If you have time, read about how a physical folksonomy project nearly choked off a Dutch library. It’s better than reading a newspaper or just randomly clicking on some article recommended by someone else. Or a dumb fucking blog. [snarkmarket]

*Local: Minneapolis music blog Culture Bully has left the playground. We wish you all the best in your future endeavours. (I swear I will write the story and theory around that phrase this year. This will be it. This will be the year.)

*Art: Portraits made of crayons. Of people. I am awful with crayons, and my early artwork at school often indicated to teachers that I should be put among the “slow” students.

*Americans: “The archetypal American abroad is perceived as loud and crass even though actually existing American tourists are distinguished by the way they address bus drivers and bartenders as “sir” and are effusive in their thanks when any small service is rendered. We look on with some confusion at these encounters because, on the one hand, the Americans seem a bit country-bumpkinish, and, on the other, good manners are a form of sophistication.” I’m fascinated by sociology, and often wonder if I should get into some line of work that would help me engage that interest. (Read that whole article; it’s great.) [nostrich]

*Localish: Tad Friend writes about former University of Minnesota President Mark Yudof in the New Yorker. Yudof, whom my wife wrote various communications for while he was at the U of M, now works at the University of California, and is described as “the university’s unpopular president.” I had a late lunch at his house once. He was balder than me. Both at the time, and also, thankfully, balder even than I am RIGHT NOW. [braublog]

*Today’s links: The only part that was OK was the headline.

