Links for 1.12.10: 17 Ways to Better Abs

by Josh Kimball

*The Internet: Are we living in an age of “digital Maoism“; existing in an environment that encourages mediocrity? I know I am. [tds]

Additionally: Here’s what Clay Shirky says about our current internet: “We are, however, the people who are setting the earliest patterns for this medium. Our fate won’t matter much, but the norms we set will.”

*Geography: Read “The Ruse of the Creative Class.” I can’t tell which the author dislikes more, Richard Florida’s suits or his ideas. Can’t we all just wear monochrome jumpsuits that have been modified to not have any pants? This is America. 2010. Let’s look at the bright side of digital Maoism. [harper’s]

*Cycling: This bicycle helmet from Julien Bergignat reminds me of sushi. [notcot]

*Weather: I have nearly become obsessed with the idea of self-rolling snow. HOW CAN WE HARNESS THIS POWER?!??

*Ads: This guy had glasses tattooed to his face for Ray-Ban? I don’t really buy this. And not just because the Alta Vista’d Portuguese resembles gibberish. If anything, that made it more realistic. Still, ouch? [notcot]

*History: Although this Smithsonian listicle claims to debunk the biggest myths of the American Revolution, I didn’t see a single “myth” that anybody really believes. I have, in the past 6 months, read up on: Franklin, Washington, Adams, Jefferson, Hamilton, the Revolutionary War, and Lewis and Clark. Effers.

*Privacy: Did you know that Orson Welles cared about more than just movies and Gallo wines?

“Well obviously, I’m a male, I’m a man, why should I have to answer that? State your race and religion in block letters; well, now why should I have to confide my religion to the police? Frankly, I don’t think anybody’s race is anybody’s business. I’m willing to admit that the policeman has a difficult job, a very hard job, but it’s the essence of our society that the policeman’s job should be hard. He’s there to protect, protect the free citizen, not to chase criminals, that’s an incidental part of his job. The free citizen is always more of a nuisance to the policeman that the criminal.”

*Art: I have, on this listenerd, long been a fan of the remediation of art. I like watching records play on YouTube. Now, I like drawings made of YouTube videos. (And they’re selling!) Not as much as the records playing. But still. [picocool]

*Today’s links: F.

