Links for 1.25.10: 19 Tips for Better Abs

by Josh Kimball

*Update: It has recently (online and off) been asked – “What is happening to this blog?” I feel like I should address this question in the form of a listicle (the true essence of the “blog” format): 1) What has been happening is simple, inevitable change.

2) To wit: I’m reminded of a passage from a Randall Jarrell lecture on Wallace Stevens (though you have to connect some dots to understand how the Marx reference gets back to Stevens – and then again to get to our present situation): “When Marx said that he wasn’t a Marxist he meant, I suppose, that he himself was not one of his own followers, could not be taken in by the prolongation and simplification of his own beliefs.” That statement is sorta about art and politics, but it’s more importantly about being an active, thinking, creating human being. It is the healthy delta between creator and consumer. Note: I do not like the listenerd.

3) I have been Tumbling more. (My twitter account, meanwhile, has felt creatively desiccated.)

I have been deciding in which social media bucket to put what kind of interesting, shareable tidbit (tumblr, here, twitter, etc.) entirely by feel. I freely admit that I have probably been doing it wrong. Additionally, my creative output at work has dwindled probably to the hundreds of words weekly. In short, I’m getting old. Fuckers.

*Article: Here’s the kind of thing I used to link to more frequently: The Live Nation and Ticketmaster merger has been Okayed! Hooray! Wait.

*Literature: “Mr. Plimpton’s Revenge” is a literary essay delivered through the medium of a Google map. It is excellent. Like, “Two Gentlemen of Lebowski” excellent. That’s high praise around here. [shorties]

*Data: Feltron has released his annual report for 2009. (As I have mentioned many times previously, Mr. Felton helped us out by recording a video for my day job, and I have always enjoyed his reports.)

*Obesity: Thinner Whole Foods employees (or at least those with lower BMIs) will get better discounts? If I keep going at the rate I’m going, my employee discount would quickly be at 110% retail price. But first I’d have to get a job at Whole Foods. A job for which I would be wholly unqualified.

*Fisticuffs: Apparently, there was a brawl at the TC Hip-Hop Awards at First Ave.

*Bands: Gabba is a British cover band that does Abba and the Ramones. I like the idea of walking mashups. [spinner]

*Hip-hop: Flavorwire does a round-up of Understand Rap explanations from Blueprint 3. I’m inclined to enjoy explanations of lyrics, though I cannot explain why. Also, I would love to see a Hopelandic explanation site. [the pocketdialed reader]

*Today’s links: F.

