Links for 2.3.10: 23 Tips for Better Abs

by Josh Kimball

*Space: The other day, I linked to an article about how silence is disappearing. But really, our country is relatively empty. Paradoxical? Or just a lazy lack of context by your blogger?

*World knowledge: Current information storage systems are fragile; data is ephemeral. And our memories are poor. (Screenplay: After the Information Age, in a dystopian post-apocalyptic future, a man with an incredible memory holds the key to humanity’s future. Starring Keith Richards. Directed by Johnny Depp. Call me.) [neural]

*Social media: This seems intuitive, but people typically have similar connections across social media. So your fingerprint of friends on one network can probably identify you on others. Anonymity is hard. And I’ve tried. Lord knows I’ve tried.

*Taxation: Enter your salary in USA Today‘s calculator to find out how much of your tax money goes where. My taxes are already done for 2009.

*U2: AC/DC’s Brian Johnson thinks Bono is being obnoxious about his charity work. Remind me to tell you about the time I was doing fact-checking for a Tumblr post about AC/DC and accidentally Googled the phrase “big balls.” (Never do that.) [tds]

*Innovation: The Mu Space (CONCEPT) music player is also a pillow. BUT IS IT A BODY PILLOW? (It is not.)

*Coincidence: So I both TUMBLED and TWEETED things about “Anti-Graffiti Bill” the other day. Now I learn that the amusingly ambiguous quirks of language such as that in the headline “Anti-Graffiti Bill in Denver Killed” are called crash blossoms.

*Today’s links: F.

