Links for 4.6.10: 22 Tips for Better Abs and Worse Underarm Odor

by Josh Kimball

*The Internet: Is net neutrality a goner? Internet users, prepare to be throttled.

*Language. I love metaphors like a cat loves New Yorker cartoons. (Not sure. Hi, Susan Orlean.) Read high school analogies and metaphors: “The thunder was ominous sounding, much like the sound of a thin sheet of metal being shaken backstage during the storm scene in a play.” This is like a gentle email forward from a vaguely out-of-touch relative. Sweet. [mefi]

*Games: Scrabble will now allow proper nouns. WHAT? So you’re trying to tell me that Words with Friends is now my bastion of word-game sanity? Out-fucking-rageous.

*Quotes: “[The Internet] is in direct opposition to the art of music being treated with respect.” -Jack White [nme via vulture]

*Chess: Playing Chess with Kubrick – well worth the read. “But as soon as Kubrick opened the door I felt an immediate kindred spirit. He looked and acted like every obsessive theoretical physicist I have ever known.” I recommend that you treat this article with the respect it deserves.

*Video: An 8-Bit Dr. Horrible remake. IF YOU REMEMBER DR. HORRIBLE. [laughing squid]

*Social issues: Should prisoners be used to create electricity to run America’s computers? Also, what is Soylent Green made out of?

*Ore: I never used to link to videos explaining how iron ore gets extracted from Minnesota mines. That means some people will call this progress, and some people will call me an asshole. Still.

*Video: Sound from Diagrams. The video sounds like an alien peeing into a fish tank. [coudal]

*Today’s links: F. Sometimes you have to not know where you’re going in order to get anywhere. (I just made that up. Obviously.)

