Links for 6.28.10: How to get a beer belly

by Josh Kimball

*Environment: This is what The Listenerd looks like, post-oil spill. [A Cleaner Future, via Eyeteeth]

*Crafts: Apparently, the practice you will see if you click through on this link is known as thread painting, and it is amazing. BEEEEEESSS!!!!!

*Architecture: The idea of the hallway. [That one was for you, Murketing.]

*Art: Tomáš Gabzdil’s Libertiny sculpture is finished by adding…BEES!!!!!! (I love exclaiming…BEES!!!) [I’m done.] [(notcot)]

*Retail: A fine, long listicle on why your barista hates you. I long had a barista with whom I had a near-perfect understanding: I wouldn’t talk to him, he wouldn’t talk to me. I would tip him a whole dollar almost every day, he would give me free coffees regularly. Then he went into rehab. Yeah, sad story. [consumerist]

*Music: Camille Paglia on sex, jazz, androgyny and men who wear loose shorts.

*Imagery: “Postcards from Hell” – ForeignPolicy.com puts together a photo essay of images from “the world’s most failed states.” [harper’s]

*Wood: If I were still on Tumblr, I’d tumble this image. Acrylic on dead wood.

*Blogs: I didn’t even know Converse had a blog. Is The Daily Swarm doing it? It looks like a combination of Notcot and TDS. I barely see any shoes.

*Local: There will be a BEER EVENT called SURLYFEST on September 18th. Where? No idea. What? No idea. If you have never had Surly, you should find some and drink it. BEER!!!!

*Today’s links: F.

