Links for 8.1.10: 999 Tips for Better Abs

by Josh Kimball

*Hello: I spent the past week in our nation’s capital. That is all. Well. I’m also now strongly considering growing a Thomas Hardy mustache. Bear with me.

*Books: Liquor and Lit, by Charles Deemer. “The Japanese have put the progression of the drinking life more succinctly than anyone: first the man takes the drink; then the drink takes the drink; then the drink takes the man.” [coudal]

*Records: We have wood, people. We have major wood. [presurfer]

*Work: 48% of people who want new jobs are motivated by a lack of trust in their employers.

*Home: You cannot buy the Comfy Cargo Chair by Stephan Schulz, but you can sit on top of a big pile of garbage in your backyard. [murketing]

*Food: Read about Sylvia Plath’s salad dressing and Andy Warhol’s tomato soup. If this were, like, Snarkmarket, I would be pretending to make a big deal about all this.

*Clothes: Loyal Loot Collective’s Monsier Dressup is the reason I am excited about a clothes hook/hanger for the first time in my life. [notcot]

*Annual: This Beatles-inspired “Yellow Submarine” birthday cake is like a stab in the eyeball with awesome. [neatorama]

*Television: I am a big fan of Mark Lisanti’s Mad Men power rankings. For this kind of writing. Huh?: “Now tell me I’m a shell of a man who lets his wife stay in his house way past the mutually agreed-upon vacating date.”

*Twitter: Read these four things.

*Today’s links: F.

