Links for 8.3.10: Sometimes you’re the abs, sometimes you’re the lasagne

by Josh Kimball

*Animals: So apparently Lapham’s Quarterly has been killing it like Theodore Roosevelt lately. Check out the list of animals the president bagged. *the listenerd does not condone hunting, though he went duck hunting once at age 11. He was only allowed to shoot decoys at the time, a restriction that resulted in incredible boredom and an immediate rejection of the sport.

*Images: I wish this incredible photo exhibit by Alvaro Sanchez-Montañes had a different title than Desert Indoors. I’m like that. Maybe it sounds better in Spanish. But still, beautiful photos. [notcot]

*Delicious: The Modern Toilet Restaurant serves food in small toilets. If I thought and thought for a million years straight, I would still not come up with an idea this good. [c-monster]

*America: Ginia Bellafante, who is a very good writer, looks at size and fashion in The Plus-Size Wars.

*Words: According to some, audio tracks can produce a REAL digital high. The practice is known as i-dosing. If it exists. Via Schott’s Vocab. You can also now find Mr. Schott on Twitter.

*Literature: For anyone who hasn’t seen them yet, Kanye West’s tweets set to New Yorker cartoons are excellent, in a quiet, end-of-the-world way. (Which I take great pleasure in.)

*Food: I can’t remember if I’ve already linked to edible crayons yet or not. If I have, I obviously did not do so with the force of mind necessary to lodge it in anyone’s brainpan. What I’m trying to say is this: I think it would be awesome if one of these tasted like sauerkraut.

*Politics: I guess Wyclef Jean really is going to run for president of Haiti?

*Local: Debuting at this year’s state fair – Corndog Pizza.

*Note: Sometimes I think I include too many links, diluting the power of any one of them and inhibiting readers from clicking. That is all.

*Today’s links: F.

