Links for 9.13.10: Back to the future

by Josh Kimball

*Important note: The post you are now reading was written in the past. Please take this into consideration as you consume the information contained herein.

*Media: Joel Johnson writes about Apple’s AirPlay and its potential futures.

*Dudes: GQ takes on Sylvester Stallone. And it’s a pretty damn interesting read. Sly, Charlie Chaplin and Orson Welles are the only three people ever to be up for a best actor and best screenplay nomination in the same year.

*Video: GAYNGS and Har Mar Superstar join forces to cover George Michael’s “One More Try.” I may have mentioned this before, but Har Mar is my home town shopping mall. My son loves running up and down the ramp outside the aromatic pet store near the Marshall’s and around the corner from the Dress Barn.

*Eating: The WaitList app from The A.V. Club sounds like a prediction engine for traffic at restaurants. Read the WSJ blurby thing on it. Is this an anticipation engine?

*Cycles: This Musical Bike Path from the Seoul Cycle Design Competition plays music as one rides over it. I have written about musical roads before. Or linked to them, at least.

*Selling: The Hudson Hotel’s luxury vending machine includes such items as golden handcuffs, miniskirts and a Paul Smith toothbrush. This gives me an idea. The idea is to run a vending machine that is not full of luxury items, but is instead full of awesome shit; a vending machine whose unifying theme is coolness. I think it would have axes and maybe also super-weird pig masks. [mktg]

*Food: These floating cakes are art. [c-monster]

*Oil: Don’t get me started on this, because I could REALLY go. I don’t change the oil in my car. Never have. Never want to. I think it’s bullshit propagated by the oil-industrial complex. And finally, I am vindicated.

*Does anyone want to buy a holiday wreath?

*Today’s links: F.

