Links for 11.2.10: “This country runs on optimism.”

by Josh Kimball

*Hello!: I have been gone for a long time, mostly working in India and buying Elton John albums. I have returned, but not with a vengeance. With a whimper.

*Personal: I’m having a hard time figuring out if I should write weird, small, non sequitur personal tidbits and anecdotes here on the main ‘nerd or on a separate tumblr ‘nerd. Like HERE and HERE. You know? I’m talking about the top 8 wrestling moves my 3yo performs on me before 6am, I’m talking Ed Hardy beer and I’m talking about penis with your coffee.

*Commuting: The Retroreflector Tie is a necktie made out of reflective tape, ostensibly for professionals who commute via bicycle. (I just wear a sweaty shirt.) [neatorama]

*Note: In the above subject line, the country being referred to is India.

*Video: Those of you who do not follow professional wrestling may find it interesting that Pee Wee Herman is stepping into the squared circle. Whaat? WHAAAAT? (Giant ear voice.) [Fade to black.]

*Football: So it turns out Randy Moss is a real prick. Huh. [gruber]

*Cash: Read a handwritten to-do list from Johnny Cash – “Not smoke”. [pocketmonsterd]

*Politics: Hours late and already seen nearly everywhere, but I think there’s something interesting to be said about What The Fuck Has Obama Done So Far?, especially when considered in the context of Cee-lo Green’s summer hit single, “Fuck You.” It’s just that I’m not going to be the one to say it.

*Eating: Foods that cost just one dollar, photographed by Jonathan Blaustein. [mktg]

*Shopping: I just purchased a home carbonation kit from KegConnection. And do you know what the most common question I’ve gotten about it is? “Are you going to use it to kill people like the guy in ‘No Country for Old Men’?” The answer, my friends, is a vehement NO.

*Today’s links: Below an F.

