Links for 11.10.10: A day that will live in infamy

by Josh Kimball

*Note: I don’t know how to say this politely, so I’m just going to say it: I’m tumblring over here.

*Business: Umair Haque – of Havas Media Lab – talks about how Strategy Can Do Better – “hen you read between the lines, companies that can do the above don’t just create McJobs, they create fulfilling work; they don’t just churn out more toxic junk to be mutely crammed down the throats of “consumers,” but meaningfully “good” goods; they don’t just earn a “profit” — they begin to create authentic, enduring value.”

*Music: John Roderick of the Long Winters (who is EXCELLENT on Twitter), is writing a column for Seattle Weekly. This one is on booze and drugs, of all things.

*Local: On the way to reading about One on One, the coffee-cum-bicycle shop I stop at nearly every morning, I accidentally ran across this article claiming that the Twin Cities are a unicycling mecca. I may take this up once I master home carbonation.

*Shows: Danzig was scheduled to perform in town yesterday, but apparently cancelled his show. Remember that video of Danzig getting hit by that guy from the North Side Kings? That may have been the first viral video I ever ran across. (I didn’t even know what was going on.)

*Visits: Obama was in India this week. “Indeed, Obama is placed in a unique position for an American president, a position that he appears to comprehend, though his opponents in the US do not. Power today begins in the acceptance of the limits upon it.”

*Reading: Watching the original Henry Rollins vs. Hipsters video depressed me, but Nitsuh Abebe’s blow-by-blow account of it for Vulture was actually invigorating.

*Today’s links: F.

