Links for 12.10.10: The way of all flesh

by Josh Kimball

*Delirium in prose: It seems like there’s been a wealth of compelling writing floating around in front of my eyes in recent days. This thing from Pitchfork Reviews Reviews goes three different ways on you. You should read it! Fuck Yeah Menswear has been killing it, modern poetry style. As far as purely comedic writing goes, anything by Fireland deserves a read.

*Talking: Jay-Z has been making the rounds in support of his book, “Decoded.” He’s entertaining pretty much every time he talks. Here he is on Howard Stern, and here on Charlie Rose. [various]

*Condensation: Gawker has smashed the year’s best videos into a one-time, under-three-minute mashup.

*Film: On Barry Lyndon. Note: Barry Lyndon was the first film I failed to recall in conversation. (I once had a prodigious memory. I forgot when it slipped away.)

*Game: The Awl’s Abe Sauer asks if Sarah Palin really knows how to hunt. I’ve already told you about the time I shot all those decoys with a BB gun.

*Literature: Hemingway and the Cocktail includes one part Earnest, three parts spirits. Nicely done. [coudal]

*Movies: Here’s a video of “Inception” in real-time (with the various dream-levels overlapped). If you’d like to know what I think happened, read some Borges.

*Topography: If you like heavy metal (or any of several other mini metal genres), navigate your way through the Map of Metal. [eyeteeth]

*OMG: Maura Johnston did a LISTICLE? Some might call the typical listenerd format a listicle, but please note that my groupings of bullets have no unifying theme. EVER.

*Hands: John Lennon (Lenon?) had terrible handwriting. And her really hated McCartney for a while there.

*Weather: There is a huge storm rolling in. Here’s what I was doing for the Minneapolis Halloween storm of 1991. Good times. Also, I have gray hairs now?

*Twitter: Some tweets I enjoyed reading.

*Today’s links: F. Don’t ever speak of this again.

