the listenerd’s first annual holiday gift guide

by Josh Kimball

Please welcome into being the listenerd’s first annual holiday gift guide. I have included in this annual holiday gift guide 1) things that awesome people would like; 2) things that are innately awesome; 3) random crap.

I will warn you in advance that these are extraordinarily MANLY. And for that, I apologize. One cannot, and should not, fight one’s nature. If you have any recommendations of things that should be added to the list, please let me know.

*Addition + philanthropy: You could give to sucittaM’s Big Brothers Big Sisters Campaign on Pledgie. You could also follow him on twitter. (He’s incredibly funny.)

*Trees: Wetterling’s axe maker’s kit from Best Made. This is a KIT to MAKE an AXE to CHOP WOOD. Or shave your chest with.

*Wall: Some art from Kelly Reemtsen or “art” from Mike Monteiro (well, this one is sold out…). (I’m not really that into axes. Total coincidence. Swear to god.) Also, you could just grab the lovely of your choice from 20×200.

*Food: I bought a gallon jug of Tabasco sauce for my dad for Christmas last year or the year before. His response: (long, long pause) – “Is it real?” Another home run.

*Drink: Surly Furious. They call it an American India Pale Ale. It tastes like what god really wanted grapefruits to taste like.

*Minneapolis: A CHEESE CSA subscription from Shepherd’s Way farm.

*More drink: I don’t know if it’s any good (though I don’t see how it could possibly fail), but I spotted some nut liquor at the liquor store last week.

*Paper: Field Notes notebooks. Simple and attractive. (I am not allowed to buy any more of these for now.)

*Wheels: The Surly CrossCheck complete bicycle. The only wheels you will ever need. Except for the wheels on planes. And inside machines that you use on a day-to-day basis.

*Local: You could contribute in someone’s name to support David Brauer’s excellent Braublog on MinnPost.

*Addition: Panera’s Frontega chicken panini.

*Addition: I bought and tried to use this homemade bubbling system several months ago, and it turns out I am an idiot.

