Links for October 11, 2011: Tear the reaper

by Josh Kimball

*This Indian Life: This is the second time I’ve linked to Caravan magazine in the past week! And I don’t even read magazines! Even/especially Caravan! Read about how the voice of the Delhi metro (“Mind the gap,” etc.) first experienced the train. Here’s what a (regular, non “women’s”) Delhi metro car looks like.

*Recommendations: If you want to read the work of someone who writes well, I suggest that you find Mark Lisanti’s various web presences and follow them. To wit: The Types of People You Meet at an Introductory Home Brewing Class. (I feel like it’s weird that neither beards nor bicycles were mentioned.)

*Clothing: This anecdote about how and why Steve Jobs came to wear black turtlenecks and 501 jeans REALLY struck a cord with me. I feel like I’m one PERFECT long-sleeved shirt away from having a uniform I could commit to. (SUGGESTIONS WELCOMED.) For other men of civilian uniform, see Albert Einstein and Scott Seekins.

*Cunning stunts: Based on the recommendation of Stephen Metcalf from Slate’s Culture Gabfest, which is somehow affiliated with the universally-loathed-for-its-kneejerk-contrarian-headlines Slate.com, I listened to the Fresh Air podcast wherein Terry Gross interviews legendary Hollywood stuntman Hal Needham. A good-old-boy and a great listen. (I will note that I could not fully enjoy the podcast due to the fact that I was jogging at the time. Which I hate.)

*Video: Joey Chestnut speed eats chili. Two gallons. Six minutes. This reminds me of the time I went jogging after eating some sort of weird salmon meal. (Today.)

*Essay: How I Started Running. Good read. I have recently started running and can’t decide whether I loathe myself more for having taken up the sport or for starting to like it. Or for having run immediately after eating a strange dinner. (Earlier this evening.)

*Basketball: Quite a while ago, I wrote about a photo of Dirk Nowitzki. And Inglourious Basterds. Trust me. Go with it. Go with it.

*Today’s links: F-.

