Links for October 12, 2011: The Phenomenology of Desire

by Josh Kimball

*Real headlines: Family Lost in Massachusetts Corn Maze Calls 911 for Help. They were only 25 feet from the exit. Don’t ever read the transcripts of this. Ever. Similarly (not really?), the movie Drive inspired a man to throw a hot dog at Tiger Woods. I just report this shit. Then cry about it. Then cry about the crying.

*Inventions: The Keaton Music Typewriter is fairly amazing. And my recent analog yearnings are totally driving me toward it. Speaking of analog yearnings, Kottke posted this today, a link to a tumblr called Fuck Yeah Made in USA. (My “analog yearnings” were directed at the tumblr, not Kottke.) [notcot]

*Art: You’re telling me that there’s a Batman musical with music by Meat Loaf? And that Meat Loaf is two words? Like, there’s a separate surname? I call bullshit.

*Vizzie: On this map, the black areas represent users of Facebook. The gold areas represent non-users. I am like a single speck of gold shining in an all-swallowing ocean of black. [via heckadecimal]

*Twitter: I recommend that everyone follow Fake Pew Research. Like, I mean, this one? Also, Neko Case, who claims to be a man, but, whatever she is, is excellent. (A little heavy on the animal shelters…) Also, follow @thewuzzles, who has been doing some INCREDIBLE work with TGI Friday’s lately.

*Local: If you like poetry, the ABSURDIST poet James Tate will be reading at the Walker tomorrow night! For free! There will also be a webcast, I guess? I recommend going or reading some Tate. Here’s a little: “People in glass elevators shouldn’t carry snow shovels.” (I agree.)

*Cycling: This is wonderful? The Speed Vest is an item of clothing that indicates a cyclist’s speed on the back. I could use one of these for running, but instead of my speed, it would simply say what I had just eaten. (E.g. “Some weird salmon meal.”)

*Today’s links: F.

