Links for October 17th: “It went to shit.”

by Josh Kimball

*Video: These electricity-free lightbulbs made out of water bottles are illuminating the homes of thousands of people throughout the Philippines.

*Clothing: Do you believe this Hitchcock vs. Angry Birds design should make its way onto a t-shirt? You can help. I mean, it wouldn’t be as helpful as giving thousands of poor people the gift of electricity-free light. It’s more like helping one guy, a graphic designer who probably has a nicer computer than you. And whose glasses are probably obnoxious. Like maybe square. Or clear.

*Online: The recent Moot talk that’s going around, the one in which he speaks about how identity is prismatic and Facebook and Google are doing it wrong strikes a chord with me. (I’m saying that not only as the listenerd, but as all of my selves. I guess it struck a chord with mes.)

*Food: Bourdain talks to Playboy. Basically, I’ll go anywhere Golden Fiddle sends me. “I don’t mind looking like an asshole on television or looking like an idiot if that was the reality of the situation.” This quote hits me right between the eyes. Especially the “reality of the situation” part.

*Television: Beavis and Butthead is coming back to MTV, and the reporter who wrote this profile thinks Mike Judge is hot!

*Movies: I have enjoyed nearly every Pixar movie I have ever seen, and think John Lasseter is a smart and talented man. However, Cars 2 was a steaming pile of elephant feces, conceived and executed for all the worst reasons in seemingly as crass a manner as possible. (John Lasseter disagrees.)

*Exercise: Let’s say for a moment that you take up the fitness activity known as kettle bells. Shouldn’t your kettle bells look like demons? Or maybe huge donuts? Also, if you prefer the term kettle balls, they could look like testicles. But that’s a little obvious, isn’t it, pervert?

*Today’s links: F.

